Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
FrozenTundra
    Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:13 am

Hello Everybody,

As I've put in my signature, I'm an Industrial Maintenance Tech and Welding student at a local Technical College. We study things like machine tool, hydraulics and fluid power, pumps, bearings, electrical systems/motors, shaft and coupling alignment, PLCs, conveyors, fabrication, and of course--welding (SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW).

I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoy the welding portion of the course! However, my two year program's particular welding curriculum is somewhat abbreviated compared to the school's single year dedicated welding program. We only spend one day per week in the proper welding shop, which makes it a little hard to get on a roll and build skill quickly.

Luckily for me, in the last two semesters the welding instructors have taken me to raise (not unlike a stray dog) and given me free run of their facilities. I can come and go as I please (usually an extra 2-5 hours per day), and have unlimited access to the equipment, coupon material, and instruction.

The phrase "If you hang around the barbershop long enough, eventually you're going to wind up with a haircut" comes to mind. :D

Currently I'm in my last semester, just two months before graduation, and working hard on the GTAW portion of the welding curriculum. Employment schedule permitting (I'm looking now), I've decided to take the full-scale welding program next year. I've already got all the General Ed classes completed, and the school has graciously offered to wave the fees for SMAW I and II, GTAW I, and GMAW I, which I have already completed, while still having me re-attend the classes. This would combine to make the program closer to half- price. I really hope I can manage it.