Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
genesis
    Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:19 pm

I have a lady friend whom I've known for 10 years. I'm a computer instructor at a tech college and she's taken many of my classes. As we like so many of the same things, 5 years ago we started hanging out together.

Recently we were shopping in Green Bay. I had a $35.00 gift card from Fleet Farm which I wanted to use up. While in Fleet Farm, we strolled over to the Hobart Stickmate LX 235AC/160DC which I always drool over and was gonna buy, sooner or later. I don't know how to weld and don't a "need" a welder. I just wanted a stick welder to play with. (So many say, "get a MIG", but the welding instructors at the tech college I teach at told me to get what ever I wanted, and just play with it. My neighbor is a maintenance supervisor and will give me welding lessons.) As we were about to move on, my friend plucked the little tag off the shelf for the Stickmate. I asked her what she was doing. She said "Happy Early Birthday". I almost fell over. (My birthday is in December.) Then to make things even nicer, as we were checking out and she was paying for the welder, the cashier told her, "you can save $44.49 (10%) on this purchase if you open a Fleet Farm credit card" (which she gladly did - but will never use). The Stickmate is $444.99 at Fleet Farm, but she paid only $400.49. During all this excitement, I completely forgot about the gift card I was gonna use up, so I gave it to her.