Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
pianoman8t8
    Tue Jan 12, 2021 7:22 pm

Hey all, new here. I'm a beginner welder. Machining is my background. Currently I have the common Lincoln tombstone stick welder, and a small 120v mig. Been wanting a tig for a while, there's a couple available locally. A Lincoln idealarc 250 AC/DC trigger on air cooled torch, no pedal, but with tank. The other is a Marquette 300amp ac/DC, water cooled torch, no other leads. The Marquette cab be had for cheap, the Lincoln a bit more. Thoughts? I'm leaning towards the Lincoln. Available power in my garage isn't an issue.
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

I had an IdealArc for decades. A beast of a machine and welded great. Used a 50amp breaker to power it though.
pianoman8t8

Well, I ended up pulling the trigger on a Syncrowave 300... Beast! Anyway, was noticing the vast difference in power input requirements (mostly in wire size). The Syncrowave 250 is what, 100a-125a breaker and #6 conductor. The Syncrowave 300, doesn't specify a breaker in the manual (although lists a chart for amps), BUT it does state to use 2/0 cable. Damn! What a jump in wire size from the 250 to the 300!!!! Is anyone actually running 2/0 to theirs? That's big stuff, especially if flexible power cable...
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

pianoman8t8 wrote:Well, I ended up pulling the trigger on a Syncrowave 300... Beast! Anyway, was noticing the vast difference in power input requirements (mostly in wire size). The Syncrowave 250 is what, 100a-125a breaker and #6 conductor. The Syncrowave 300, doesn't specify a breaker in the manual (although lists a chart for amps), BUT it does state to use 2/0 cable. Damn! What a jump in wire size from the 250 to the 300!!!! Is anyone actually running 2/0 to theirs? That's big stuff, especially if flexible power cable...