Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
new_to_welding
    Thu May 27, 2021 6:33 pm

So, I am completely new to welding. Never welded a thing. I do have a hand torch for the usual resin/art projects but not even close to what I need to learn for this project.
The other night, I downloaded an awesome set of plans/tutorial for building a teardrop camper (about 1,200 pages of photos & step-by-step tutorial). It starts off with building your own trailer & that means...you guessed it...welding. I could take the easy way out & buy a Harbor Freight 4x8 flatbed. But...why?
So, this is why I decided to join this group:
To learn, get guidance, find out what I need to do this.
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

Welcome. Just to be clear. By the time you invest in equipment and materials to learn the skills to complete a project like this you will likely have $3k into your trailer or more. As long as your open eyed about what your getting into you will be fine.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
new_to_welding

Poland308 wrote:Welcome. Just to be clear. By the time you invest in equipment and materials to learn the skills to complete a project like this you will likely have $3k into your trailer or more. As long as your open eyed about what your getting into you will be fine.
I have no problems saving up money to learn to weld. It is a valuable skill. I may just buy a Harbor Freight trailer for my camper & practice welding once I get a MIG machine, books, safety gear, videos, etc. Found out that MIG is the place to start. Research is a valuable skill. :D
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

new_to_welding wrote:......... Found out that MIG is the place to start. ..........
not really.
mig has a lot of variables you need to get right and you need to know what your looking at to be able to get it right (bit of a catch22).
one of the dangers is mig can give very nice looking welds that fail.