Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
slabski
    Wed Mar 16, 2022 1:31 pm

It's rude not to say "hi!" when joining a forum, so there it is. :D
Briefly, I am a machinist by trade for the last 22yrs, but the welder here quit so I stepped up a few years back and took the position along with my machining responsibilities. They sent me to a private welding school for two weeks to learn how to TIG weld. I had experience MIG welding from my time in the bodyshop/restoration field but TIG was new. I bought the "welding tips and tricks video's series" and with tons of practice managed to get ASME certified to weld our product line in the pressure vessel industry. I work mainly with carbon steel casting(WCB) and exotic stainless steels. Things have changed a lot here and after a massive layoff, only 11 of us are left and I'm sure the count down timer is ticking. For this reason, I am looking for welding equipment and ideas for a possible future business. I am here to look, listen and learn as I don't really feel I know much.

I will end this with a "dumb, dumb" story. I went to welding school with a shiny new Viking welding helmet but kept complaining to the teacher that I was having trouble seeing the puddle and arc. It wasn't as bad at work (better lighting and more open), but I still found it difficult. I figured it was just old eyes and dim lighting. After two years of welding and passing tests, I decided to change the lens in my helmet, only to find that there was a plastic protective sheet on the inside lens of the helmet! Needless to say, I didn't have to change that lens, and I could finally see how good the 4c helmet really was. lol
Cheers
BillE.Dee
    Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:53 pm