Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
Al_Bundy
    Tue Feb 13, 2024 7:45 pm

Greetings everyone,

Just a new guy to TIG welding saying hello. I am just a hobbyist who is trying to learn how to weld stainless and aluminum for automotive reasons. I've been visiting the board many times before to learn about TIG, but finally registered to to learn more and hopefully be able to give back someday.

This may sounds stereotypical but my main interests are to be able to TIG up a stainless exhaust system along with the matching aluminum intercooler piping. I realized early on that I will need to learn how to TIG to pursue my ambitions with my automotive hobby, so I ended up buying a Primeweld TIG225X not too long ago to teach myself at the recommendation of my buddy.

My welds are sinful so I'll spare you guys the retina burns. Thank you for all the great info posted thus far.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

welcome.
thats a decent tig to start out with.
no need to be shy with the pics. i do plenty of sinful welding, as long as it gets the job done. sometimes its simply not avoidable.
tweak it until it breaks
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

One thing to know early on is that you can always make welds look pretty after, but they have to be strong first.

A trick I used/use (even now occasionally) is to lay the first pass in, then let the weld cool, and run over it again a second time, no filler, with pulse only. It can help tidy up the weld and smooth out the inconsistencies.