Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
runnerg
    Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:34 pm

Hi fellas! I'm Greg, new guy on the site and I was referred here by none other than Fat Bob himself! I have NO welding experience other than getting the run around on things I need to have done. I'm adopting a do it yourself attitude and getting to work! A friend of mine gave me the welder he learned on (for $70). I'm not a budding professional; I just want to be able to weld tabs for my bike and the occassional auto sheetmetal. Oh btw, my welder is a chicago electric flux wire welder. All I'd ever heard of was Miller,so...

...anyway go easy guys! looking forward to having a great learning experience!
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome aboard!

That flux-core machine is not the best choice for auto sheet metal, but it CAN be done! To have the best machine for every job, we'd all have a shop-full, and no room to work! ;)

Steve S
    Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:30 pm

Hey Greg, WELCOME to the Funny Farm! Seriously, there's a ton of good advice around here and more talent than I'll ever have. I'm kind of like Frank,(any of them on CC) so old I can't hardly pay attention. :D

Forget the flux core for what you're going and learn to Tig...or ask for help around here. Someone may be close by and help you out. Tig's the only way you'll keep tabs or anything else on your ride.

Welcome aboard!
Go break something, then you can weld it back the right way.

rake
    Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:19 pm

Fat Bob wrote:Tig's the only way you'll keep tabs or anything else on your ride.
First welcome aboard.

As far as your statement Bob? Sorry but that's total BS! Tig is just another welding process. Not
the only process. There is nothing wrong with GMAW when done properly. Same can be said for
SMAW. I personally have miles of x-ray welds under my belt with SMAW, GMAW, GTAW and SAW.