Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
jbird1
    Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:47 am

Hi I am John, been welding for fun for about 15 years. MIG on things like tractors, dozers and sprint cars. Software (cloud) engineer by trade, just getting started with TIG, Stick and Plasma cutting. Usual projects are fixing things I break on my hobby farm. Including rebuild loader mounts where TYM hosed up and mounted on transmission instead of the frame. Had not worked with 15mm steel plate before, Jody's tips on how to clean scale, proper current, weave technique so far as worked well. I did 5 test welds then used bandsaw to cut through the welds to evaluate weld quality. Weave really helped get deep penetration with tight welds, and found out from the videos I was using too high a gas flow. Reduced from 6-8 to 2-3 on flow meter made big difference welds are now very tight, zero bb's, required almost no clean up. I also clean welds on every pass, another good tip.

Tried some plasma cutting ran into some problems. At input pressure of 70 lbs, anything above this shuts the cutter down, this limits how deep we can cut. I was learning to cut mild steel plate that is 15 mm. Using 45 amps of the 50, 1 sec flow pre, 15 sec post and 65 psi airpressure, was difficult to get penetration, would do 2/3 then did not have enough poop to finish out the other side, the other problem was getting the arc to strike, very touchy. Must be missing a setting, My old plasma arc was very good at 1/16 standoff at 45 amps cutting 1/2 steel plate so need to learn how to make the Everlast PP 205S work as well.

The new 205S has pressure gage on front and better integration than previous 205 or 256. (its a 2013 model)