Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
coldman
  • coldman

Hey there folks, my name is Vic and I am an industrial refrigeration mechanic. A bit over a year ago I enrolled in night college (introductory welding course) to learn how to use the tig part of my inverter power source. Self taught stick burner for many years. This course taught me to connect up the leads and strike an arc. Not good enough. I also did some research online and found WT&tricks and from then on I was gone - my wife blames Jody. I have now completed tig GP (general purpose) tig SP (structural purpose) and finally tig certification. Now I weld beside experienced pressure welders in my day job from time to time on refrigeration ammonia pipe installations which is all sched 40 low carbon steel with 10% x-ray. Have also done some staino and aly jobs too. How's that for a baggy-assed fridgie in his twilight years? Got plenty of tig fingers and also CK Flex-Loc torch posted out from USA and fitted to my 200DX and pinky. The local suppliers and welders walk around and look at this stuff with envy and don't say much. I gave a tig finger to a mate of mine who is currently working out on the gas pipe project up north and he loves it and all the other welders want one too. Hope this is some pay back for the knowledge I have gained here.
Thanks Jody for your inspiration and help!!!
jwmacawful
    Fri Aug 13, 2010 1:23 pm

welcome vic!
it's a very small world. i signed up at the local tech college to learn how to use the heli-arc end of my welder at work but gave up after it was cancelled twice. i'm a maint welder and by no means would ever call myself a pipe welder but the steamfitters here at work don't weld so i do the best i can. btw, if you're welding alongside experienced pipe welders then that must make you one also??
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Vic welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225