Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
dsegler
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:26 pm

I've never used a forum before, so I may be a little thick in the head on here. :lol:
I'm one step above a beginner welder. Everything I know has been learned the hard way. (Self taught with a lot of welds looking like the back side of a chicken)
I love getting the weekly Welding TV from Jody. Thanks Jody
I would like to know if anyone can tell me how the knobs on my PrecisionTig 275 compare to the settings on the Inverters that Jody uses on his videos. I get totally confused. see attached photo of the welder front panel.
Attachments
welder front panel.JPG
welder front panel.JPG (56.96 KiB) Viewed 1317 times
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome!

I've welded miles of aluminum with a PrecisionTig 375 in the past. I may be able to help, and several others here have extensive aluminum experience. I also have extensive stainless experience, though I've rarely used pulse features on it, except outside corners on light-gauge metal.

Steve S
dsegler

Thanks!!!
I'm sure I'll need all the help I can get.
I made some brackets for my garden a couple of days ago with some scrap 1" stainless tubing I had laying around. I had to make 2 curved cuts to make it fit together so I could weld it. I kept blowing holes in the metal & couldn't get it to flow very good. Using 3/32 ER308 rod & 1/16 Lanth. electrode with a #5 cup. The settings are what you see on the welder. I had max amps at 110 (just guessed where to set it) using a foot pedal. I'd show a photo of the weld, but don't want to be too embarrassed.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Just as general guidance, when I weld sch. 10 ss pipe (about 1/8" wall thickness), I'm rarely above 65 amps. For sch. 5, about 16 ga. or 1/16", I'm rarely above 45 amps, except at the start to establish the puddle (in either case).