Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
mattmark6
    Tue Nov 19, 2013 1:22 pm

Hello everyone, My name is Matt. I am interested in welding and Fabricating (although I am not very good at fabbing things :cry: ) I took a class on welding my last year of high school and have been interested in it since then. I am currently a Freshman in college and am majoring in Welding. I have done Stick and Mig. I did Tig once in my first class for like 5mins so I really don't know to much about that, And I will be honest I don't think I'm all that good at welding period. But I still like it. I currently have a Hobart Mig welder at my house with flux core wire. I haven't done much with it yet but I plan to when I get some money for steel.

I joined because I would like to learn as much as I can from you all and hopefully pick up some tips and tricks lol.
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hey,

Welcome aboard.

We all start somewhere so dont beat yourself up. Just get as much arctime as you can, listen to people around you (even the BS artists as the will let you know what not to do) read books browse the net and Jodys videos. You'll get there, it just takes time.

Mick
SteveJ
    Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:59 am

Something you might consider.... When you buy some steel from a "metal for sale shop" ( the big box store's are toooo expensive) they also have a scrap ben! The metal store I deal with gives me scap to play with and when I'm done I haul it back over to them! It's a win-win for both you and the shop! You get the scrap and they get your business when you buy the material for projects! I do it all the time with aluminum for welding practice (TIG)!! When they see the mess I make with some of the aluminum they don't laugh toooo much!! :lol:
Miller Dynasty 200DX , MillerMatic 211 Autoset w/MVP, Thermal Arc 161STH , Thermal Arc 51A Plasma
mattmark6

weldin mike 27 wrote:Hey,

Welcome aboard.