Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
    Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:58 pm

Hello all,

I'm new to welding but excites to learn. I'm mainly going to be focusing on automotive fab and auto body stuff (patch panels and such) with some general welding.

I've had a Welder for about a year now but just recently started tinkering with it. It's a Harbor Freight 90 AMP Flux Welder I got for $90. It does ok I guess. Leaves ALOT of slap and spatter though. My first project was a new transmission crossmember for an s10 v8 project

Not the greatest but only the first attempt. I don't really like the Welder so I just bought an Eastwood 175 that came with an aluminum spool gun and cart.

I'm pretty excited to use it. I'm picking up my 125 cu ft argon bottle tomorrow and am going to retry my crossmember this weekend

trxmstr
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

Welcome to the forum, there is a lot of good advice here - you're going to need it! You've made the first good step.

Don't take this the wrong way, no offense intended, but you can't just decide to take up welding and go straight to critical weldments like transmission cross-members. Those welds have little to no fusion or strength and they will come apart. Getting a better power source may not improve things for you.

A novice welder seeking to achieve critical weldments should have some training first, lots of practice on coupons and scrap and develop skills with mentoring before attempting serious work.

That's my bit, others with flux experience will chime in with specific advice.
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm