Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
    Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:53 am

Hello all,
I am relatively new to welding. Started out of necessity on my farm. My brother has been welding for 20+ years and I started to feel bad callin him everytime something needed repaired. My father had an old Lincoln buzz box and about 100lbs of 6013. My brother showed me how to arc weld. Lol I still remember trying to strike my first arc or should I say "stick my rod permantly to the steel" :lol:
Anyway after I was able to actually weld (brother checked it all of course) I got the itch.
I have been a master level carpenter for years and I love to do Timber Framing. I own my own antique saw mill and Harvest my own trees to mill on my property. My first welding project was the refurb of my lumber mills power source, an old CASE model 401 Diesel engine. It included a new foundation/trailer, new air intake system and whole exhaust manifold for the motor as well as a structure to protect it from the elements. Motor is too old for replacement parts like these so I had to fab them.
Needless to say the 100lbs of 6013 went fast. In addition to my brother wanting his MIG back. This Was a very large first welding project. My brother still laughs because of the project size for a new welder. After that project I was able to strike an arc hanging upside down with one hand tied behind my back as well as MIG weld 20 guage tube. :lol:
The itch has only gotten worse. I saw a complementary door open to my love for timber framing and just building stuff in general.
It was shortly thereafter I found WeldingTipsandTricks.com as well a winning an auction for some awesome welding equipment.