Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
GabosBanks
    Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:53 pm

Just wanted to say hello and say I'm a student welder at my local junior college just starting out, I have been welding about 7months now and I wish I would have started welding 10 years ago, I love it (except trying to learn how to fill this 5/32 gap with a 1/8 rod :evil:) for the most part...I'm just trying to start a new career in pipe welding. Jody has helped with a lot of my question from watching his vids and hopefully one day I can give back when I have the knowledge and know how thanks guys.
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
Boomer63
    Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:52 am

GabosBanks wrote:Just wanted to say hello and say I'm a student welder at my local junior college just starting out, I have been welding about 7months now and I wish I would have started welding 10 years ago, I love it (except trying to learn how to fill this 5/32 gap with a 1/8 rod :evil:) for the most part...I'm just trying to start a new career in pipe welding. Jody has helped with a lot of my question from watching his vids and hopefully one day I can give back when I have the knowledge and know how thanks guys.

Welcome to the forum! I assume the rod you are using is a 6010? Or 6011? If so, filling that gap won't be as difficult as you might think ... if you are using one of these 'fast freeze' rods. (Sorry, electrodes!) Jody does one video on this ... I think you want to look up 6G SMAW pipe. You want to 'butter' the sides of the joint with a fast weld bead: move fast, make a 'U' shape, up and down each side. The bottom will take care of itself. You really gotta move ... but you will also develop and instinct for it.