Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
PeterB
    Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:05 pm

Hello everyone! A couple of weeks ago I found this website, as I was looking for a decent welding machine.
I will be welding outdoors, since I do not have a garage. Was thinking about a mig/mag machine anyway... But...

Picked up a Kemppi Minarc machine a couple of days ago, so I'll start my learning on this stick welder!

Ran my first beads ever yesterday, not all that pretty, continued today and it's getting better!
I have a pack of 2mm 6013 and 2,5mm 7018 rods and they seem good for learning the technique.

Oh, and my wife came out today as I was practicing. She wanted to try, and she got better results than I do :lol: and she loved it.

So, a real newbie here!

I will be really happy if I (with the right rods and many hours of practice) will be able to change a muffler on my cars exhaust. That's the idea anyway....
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome, PeterB,

I'm not surprise at your comment about your wife having a batter "first go"... Some of the most talented welders I've encountered were women.

You'll find any and all advice you may need here.

I'll start... Stick (MMA / SMAW) is absolutely the most difficult process to use for exhaust work such as changing a muffler. It's not impossible, but VERY challenging. If you can do it, you'll be amazed at what else you can do, with practice.

Steve S
PeterB

Thank you for those kind words. Yup, I know that stick welding is difficult for working on an exhaust...but it's not impossible so I will give it a shot. Learning by burning... For now I will stick to padding beads and welding some thick plates together and take it from there.
    Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:49 am

Welcome
Good to see a fellow viking here . :mrgreen:
Not too many of us here, or one too many some might think ;)
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Peter welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio