Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
Trapperdude464
    Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:56 pm

Hello my name is Zach I work in the power line industry as of right now I do fab work at work and when I get home I love to weld or build or whatever we do transmission power lines and occasionally weld pieces called goat heads I am thinking of becoming a welder full time I've been helping my old man weld all kinds of projects since I was 13 I'm 22 now and I love the smell of burning a rod in the morning any advice you guys can give me will be awesome I'm thinking about pursuing boilermaker for the rest of my career any help or advice is apperciated
Boomer63
    Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:52 am

Hello and welcome!
I don't know the opportunites available to you in yoru area for Boilermakers. I would check the Boilermakers international union website and go from there. I would also suggest pipe fitters (or they may be called steam fitters). In either union, you learn a lot more than the actual welding. Contractors in the pipe industry are looking for pipe FITTERS, not just pipe welders. You need the skills to become a welder FABRICATOR, not just a grunt who drags a rod of who pushes a TIG torch. My opinion is that too many cats today have the basic welding skills, and don't have the fit-up, lay-out and basic metallurgy skills needed to do the work. Guys are hitting the industry who can weld, but can't read a blue print (also known as the drawings formerly known as prints), read a tape measure or do basic layout and fit up. Contractors and industry tell me that they can't find guys who know how to operate an oxy/fuel cutting rig!

Anyway, look for professional level training. From there, you will still have to put in years in the craft to really know and understand it, but when you get to that point to where you are an 'apex predator' ... it is a great feeling!
Trapperdude464