Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
p40whk
    Fri Jan 08, 2016 2:04 pm

Hi everyone,

Been a hobbyist welder for many years using a Hobart Handler 175 and a subscriber to Jody's videos on YouTube. My welding sucks! So, I've come here to ask questions and hopefully learn a bit more.

I'm self taught so I'm sure I have a lot of bad habits. I'm looking to start welding Aluminum so I was hoping I could do some research here to help me in my decision making process for a Tig setup.

Thanks
    Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:38 pm

Welcome to the forum . Alotta good machines out there. I have an Everlast 250EX , use the heck out of it...works very well.
If you wana do Alum , seriously consider a water cooled 20 torch setup . Throughout your Alum learning, you'll weld alot and an air cooled 17 or 26 will get very hot. Then you have to stop and wait. It is more $ up front but well worth it, as Jody says "with a 20 you're pretty much covered "
Good luck !
p40whk

Thanks for the welcome,

Hadn't even heard of a water cooled torch so learned something already!

Has anyone heard of Eastwood's welders? I buy a lot of their buffing and polishing supplies and noticed that their welders are very reasonably priced, couldn't find too much in the way of reviews searching through this forum so that kind of scares me.

I'm also torn with upgrading my MIG to a better unit with a spool gun for aluminum or keeping the one I've got and biting the bullet for a decent TIG setup.
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
Troy Boy 72
    Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:22 pm