Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
Tinkersalot
    Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:01 pm

Hello all!

I am fairly new to welding. I have done some mig and stick welding over the years. I have a Hobart mig welder, it does well for my home needs.

I also have a miller maxstar tig machine that I am using to help earn a living with.

Nobody has taught me how to tig weld. I have spent quite a bit of time practicing and on the job learning the hard way.

All I do for work is stainless steel commercial kitchen equipment, most of it is thin sheet to 14ga. So having a portable tig machine is a must.

The Miller 150 is the only tig machine I have ever used. Scratch starting a 1/16 electrode has been a frustrating experience for me. Also setting the amps to get a puddle started quickly usually ends up being too hot to continue a weld for any length without overheating the metal or blowing holes in the material. Am I doing something wrong? Is it really this difficult to use this machine for my application?

On another note, I have an opportunity to get a new machine this year (company budget) and I have been trying to find information on the Lincoln invertec 160-T, but there isn't much out there.

Please, don't make this a chevy vs ford..... miller vs lincoln argument, cause the name on the machine doesn't matter to me, however my company will only consider my input on the purchase if it is either of these machines, due to an account at the supplier.

Any help on this decision would be greatly appreciated!
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome!

We don't to the red/blue fight here. There are many colors that will get the job done, and all get a fair airing here.

We treat the operators the same way...

Steve S
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm