Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
fordman
    Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:47 pm

I am looking for a saw to add to my collection. Mainly for doing precise cuts to do stainless exhaust and headers.. I dont know a cold saw would be ideal for this.. What do you guys think of a small bandsaw like this Baleigh?
http://www.baileigh.com/portable-metal- ... fgoduoELSg

Welcome to the forum, have you considered a dry cut saw?
Richard
Website
homeboy
    Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:52 pm

As for extremely accurate repetitive cuts a good dry cut saw with the proper blade will do the job with proper setup and stock support. The Evolution380 review noted by LtBadd is from 2014 and shows a straight handle where the one I purchased in 2016 has a "D" handle which I find much more comfortable for bench work. As for the band saw I have no experience so I can't compare. Pricewise it appears the dry saw might be an economical alternative. :| :D :ugeek:
fordman

I have considered a dry saw, just wondering how well it would do on thin stainless exhaust tubing?
Fly
  • Fly
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:07 am

Dry saw will cut stainless tube like butter, faster with little to no burrs. A shop with
out one is living in the past.

Fly :D

fordman wrote:I have considered a dry saw, just wondering how well it would do on thin stainless exhaust tubing?
What size tube and wall thickness are you cutting?
Richard
Website
    Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:00 am

I just went through this analysis and almost pulled the trigger on the Dewalt LC1230. In the end because of budget I bought a Harbor Freight 4x6 band saw. I like it but wouldn't recommend it for a production shop.

The benefits of a dry cut saw: Fast, easy to get it to cut square without a lot of fuss. Downsides: Noise, the curly q chips that get everywhere, blade cost