Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
Jim Bridger
    Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:46 am

I'm still a newbie here, but I think I'm ready to breakdown and buy a drill press. The more work I play around with the more frustrated I get simply using a hand drill. My question is what are people's recommendations for a reasonably priced bench top drill press. I'd prefer to stay within a budget, but obviously interested in whether the $150-200 types presses I see for sale can last and perform accurately. I'm a hobbyist but at the same time the reason I even picked up learning to weld was to help in fixing things on the farm we run.
    Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:10 pm

Jim Bridger wrote:I'm still a newbie here, but I think I'm ready to breakdown and buy a drill press. The more work I play around with the more frustrated I get simply using a hand drill. My question is what are people's recommendations for a reasonably priced bench top drill press. I'd prefer to stay within a budget, but obviously interested in whether the $150-200 types presses I see for sale can last and perform accurately. I'm a hobbyist but at the same time the reason I even picked up learning to weld was to help in fixing things on the farm we run.
Its definetly a good investment, it'll save you a lot of money in drill bits. Best way to drill steel is slow speed with a steady consistent heavy down pressure. Which is really hard to do with a hand drill. The right speed and feed rate, along with keeping the drill bit cool can get you hundreds of holes without needing to sharpen.

Sent from my SM-G970W using Tapatalk
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Which drill press you get heavily depends on
  • the side of the part you intend to drill
  • the diameter of the hole you intend to drill
  • and/or how quickly you want to drill the part.