Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
Duey1083
    Thu Jan 07, 2021 12:34 pm

Hey everyone!

I'm brand new to welding (amateur hour over here) and this forum.

I am good at wearing respirators generally and the first thing I purchased after getting a cheap mig/flux core wire feed welder (for my birthday), other than an auto darkening hood and cart, was a GVS Elipse LPR100 respirator.

My first project was to weld up a dumbell rack, which went reasonably well, but I did the cutting and grinding in my garage with abrasive wheels on a chop saw and angle grinder, as well as a flap disc. I wear all of the required PPE, such as respirator, safety glasses, face shield, hood when welding, ear plugs, welding gloves and an FR hoodie...I could/need to invest in a leather apron.

Anyways, it is quite cold here in Canada, so I had my overhead door closed and I generated quite a bit of dust and flux core fumes. I would say I opened the overhead to clear the air after every few welds. I could smell the fumes through my respirator.

Anyways, I started getting a little concerned about the amount of dust generated and was curious about hazards to others who use the garage to park their vehicle and exposure to dust that may hang in the air. I'm most worried about silica from the abrasive discs, but my research tells me that silicon carbide is reserved for masonry cut-off and grinding wheels?

This is a hobby for me, so I think I will move cutting and grinding outside and am in the process of rigging up a fume extractor to vent out my window.

Am I being overly cautious? In other words, as long as I continue to wear my respirator and extract welding fumes, is there any danger to myself and or others from the dust that may linger in the garage?

Sorry for being a worry wart!

Andrew
uncledoc
    Tue Dec 22, 2020 8:38 pm