Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
nickn372
    Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:35 am

Anybody using Thermal Dynamics welders or plasma systems? How do they hold up? Are they comparable to the Miller's and Lincoln's of the welding world?
Be the monkey....
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hi there,

Thermal Dynamics stuff is good not as high end as Miller and Lincoln but pretty good. It is branded CIGWELD here in Australia but its the same stuff or close to it. Definitely check it out.

Mick
Ultralow787
    Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:30 pm

I have no first hand experience with their equipment, but they look good and the new models that do three processes seem like a great idea. I have read quite a bit about their plasma cutting units not doing too well though. I think for those, I would stick with HyperTherm.
Perfection is impossible, but if you strive for perfection, excellence is obtainable!

1983 Canox "Sparkler" 225 AC Stick Welder
Hobart 210 MVP MIG Welder
Harris "Spitfire" Oxy-Acetylene Set
delraydella
    Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:35 pm

Don't get the Drag-Gun model plasma cutter, it's the one with the built in air compressor. It will barely cut 1/16" sheet metal and that's with a struggle.
WeldingSyncrowave 250,Millermatic 252,30a Spoolgun Cutting12" Hi-speed Cutoff Saw, 9x 12 Horizontal Bandsaw MillingGorton 8d Vertical Mill TurningMonarch EE Precision Lathe GrindingBrown & Sharpe #5 Surface Grinder
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

I have use of two TD plasma cutters at work. I've been pleased with both. They are 90A units (on 480 3-phase), and perform very well. They've proved more reliable than the ESAB unit we had before.

At 40A, you can use the tip as a drag cup, and with dry nitrogen as supply gas you can cut light-gauge stainless with very little dross.

These things see frequent use in conditions short of rain... No climate control on the gulf coast.