Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
Wes917
    Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:45 pm

Now that I have my welder at home, I'm thinking of a cheap lathe/mill to make copper backups for things I'll do a lot of. I've read some reviews on the harbor freight mills/lathes and for the most part they were positive. Just wondering if anyone has any experience with them here? I am new to machining also so don't want to dump a bunch of money on a mill in the event I don't use it a lot or suck at it
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Sounds to me like "generally usefull" is more important than "extremely precise", and reliablility is a concern. I suspect, for an extra ten dollars or so, you can get the "extended warranty" where you can exchange it any time "no questions asked".

Go for it. It should be more than precise enough for the use you describe, and it might surprise you.

Steve S
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

I have a Harbor Freight mini lathe and have found it to work well for small jobs and prototypes. I am not a machinist but I do have a interest in lathes and mills. One thing I would advise it to purchase extra fuses, they will blow very easily when you get it stuck (ask me how I know lol). The largest item I have made so far is a set of flange pins and it did ok but pushed the limits and takes a while to finish. For the money I think you cant go wrong for a hobbyist or for small prototypes.

Moved to the new Metal Cutting/Prep work forum.
    Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:47 am

I am in a similar boat: while I have succeeded at most of my construction, welding, engineering endeavours, I have never run a lathe or mill ... until recently. And I didn't want to pay a lot to find out that I had "no talent or interest" once the chips started to turn tan.

So, I looked at mini-mills, combination lathe-mill machines, and mini-lathes.