Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
BWR
  • BWR
    Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:19 pm

So I have been researching and looking around on the internet at different plasma tables and I am having trouble on deciding which one is best. I have been looking at plasma cam and torch mate, I really like the fact that torch mate offers the gantry kit where I can build the table to save money. I have very little experience with cnc, so I am looking for some advice on what to buy or not to buy. I dont mind to spend the money for a complete unit if it is more preferred, I just hate to spend the money on the table when I could build it myself. Also any advice on what plasma cutters that do well on the tables would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
-Brad
plain ol Bill
    Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:46 pm

Just my opinions here:
Plasmacam has a large user base and has many, many fanatical users. Proprietary electronics, software, controller, and parts.
Torchmate has many users but not nearly as popular as other systems. Proprietary electronics, controller, most parts can be purchased off the shelf other places
Hypertherm - hypertherm - hypertherm. Hypertherm is the leader in technology and outsells all the other brands by a large margin. Used all of them out there during construction days (rented units). Love my Hypertherm. Like most things figure out what machine you need and then get one a little bigger. MORE POWER - GRRRRRRR.

I built my own system using electronics from CandCNC. Great electronics, great customer service. I built my own system so as not to be tied to any companies apron strings when I needed service or parts. I recommend looking at Arclight Dynamics and Precision Plasma equipment (again all comments are just my humble opinion)
Tired old welder
CNC plasma cutter
Colorful shop w/
Red, blue, yellow, purple, and Hypertherm silver equip.
nickn372
    Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:35 am