Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
jimcolt
    Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:11 pm

The question about cutting good quality bolt holes comes up often....and in fact just yesterday I received this typical question (below) from a new machine owner. I thought I would share the question and my long answer as it will likely help others improve their processes. Jim

Questions:
I have recently purchased a cnc plasma machine with a Hypertherm Powermax 125. I’ve read many articles and posts you've written about achieving better hole quality. I am cutting 5/8" plate and trying to cut 3/4" holes. You stated in an article that I should be using the 65amp consumables. Can I turn up my amperage without destroying my consumables? I am very new to the cnc plasma so this is quite the learning process
Can you recommended a machine set up for this plate and hole size?
Thanks for your time.

Jim’s Answer: