Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
mcguyver
    Tue May 17, 2016 10:59 am

Hi everyone. My name is Rick. I am a newbie here and I need ur advice on a small problem I'm having. My uncle had passed away last August and his kids (my first cousins) gave me their dads oxygen & acetylene torches. None of my cousins know anything about torches and don't care to learn. My uncle has the cw300 oxweld by purox, (2 piece) Well, I found out that Victor bought out purox and that this torch is being fazed out. So my dilemma is, do I spend over $100 to get his torch rebuilt ( u can still get parts and tips for it) the torch needs a complete rebuilt, my uncle never kept his tools up. Or should I just buy a new cutting outfit? I really like cutting with the purox cw300, very balanced and feels nice in the hand to work with. If I do buy a new outfit, what Victor torch would come close to the purox cw300? This will be my first torch purchase if I decide to go that route. I was also given the smaller torch- cw200 for my uncles baby tanks. Thank you everyone.
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Welcome, Rick!
Can I ask, who told you the torch will be discontinued? I checked online and didn't see anything like that- altho my search was admittedly quick. If you were at a welding supply and a salesman-type said that, he may have been looking for commission on a sale.

Colfax, the holding company that owns Esab (owner of the Purox and Oxweld brands) has now also bought Victor. I have read on these forums that Esab answers the phone when you call, so you might confirm the discontinued idea before deciding your next move.

I had a torch and cutting attachment rebuilt at this company
http://www.regulatortorchrepair.com