Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
JosephCv
    Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:56 pm

Hello all,
I've already said that I'm greatly interested in welding. But I'm a beginner in welding and I don't have much knowledge about it. So I have decided to take up a welding certification course. I hope that many of you here are professionals, so I would like to get suggestions from you all regarding my decision. I am interested in Flux core welding. Will this course be helpful for my future? What are your opinions?
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Based on what I saw that class/program is only flux core. I don't recommend this. Flux core is nice if you are doing heavy industrial welding like say a large structure, but many times these jobs also require you to be certified in stick welding as well. Also, job availability may be an issue depending on your location. If there is a large layoff and you have no job for several months that could be a problem. If you can weld with mig or tig you can have a job that will keep you afloat during layoffs. I would recommend doing a program that includes all of the processes so you aren't stuck.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Your profile indicates you're currently a nuclear engineer and interested in MIG. Are you considering a career change over to welding? If you're a hobbyist then a broader curriculum covering more processes might be a better idea, more fun, and a better use of time and tuition funds. How and why did you choose a flux core course? If you're considering a career change, the answer to your overall question will likely be different.
Last edited by Artie F. Emm on Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dave
aka "RTFM"
PeteM
    Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:28 am