Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
russellvaughn1
    Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:49 pm

I work as a welder. I build aluminum bulkheads for tractor trailers.
Do I need to be certified?
If anyone can help with this question, I'd greatly appreciate it.
kermdawg
    Tue May 25, 2010 8:16 pm

Usually you have to be certified to get the job in the first place. If you arent, then no. Whether your -suppose- to be or not has little bearing on you-its your employers responsibility to 1)make sure the work that needs to be done by certified people is done by such, and 2) to keep track of said certifications and make sure they are legit and up to date.

Long story short, ask your boss! :)

Most welding requires some sort of certification. If your doing aluminum (tig or mig) you should probably have some sort of certification in the process your using, covering the metal type, thickness, joint design, process, and type of weld (fillet or groove)
Signature? Who needs a F***ing signature?
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Oddly enough, I've been welding in industry from small job-shops to fab shops to railroad shops to industrial construction (including a power plant, two ethanol plants, and a bio-diesel), and I've never been certified.

That's not entirely true. At the railroad yard, they did an "in-house" test for each process, that had to be repeated every six months, but it wasn't worth any thing anywhere else except as a "bullet" on a resume'.

I currently repair and inspect one of the most complicated and potentially dangerous vehicles on the highway today, liquid hydrogen transport trailers. I regularly perform major repairs on process piping and vacuum-jacketed piping, and still have never certified in what I do.