Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
JJHess
    Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:35 pm

Hello All

Looking for a little guidance. I've been welding for about 10 years now, the last 5 years or so I weld on almost a daily basis. I never had any formal training, just bought a welding years back and started reading & practicing. My background is in residential construction, so not much welding there. Now I have a pile driving business and most of my welds are flat filet welds, when joining 2 pieces of pipe pile inside a coupler. Also some vertical welding when installing cross bracing.

I need to finally get certified, as I am seeing this requirement more and more, especially on commercial work. I'm planning on doing the 3G limited plate test. I've made a bunch of test coupons and built a bend tester for my press. I have the root pass down no problem as well as all the filling. The issue I'm having is with the cap. I can't seem to get rid of the undercut when I do the cap. I've ground the face flat and tried going over it again to fill the undercut but I end up with undercut on either side of that weld.

I running 110 amps for my root & fill. I've tried turning back to 105 for the cap but still have the undercut. I can't maintain an arc at less than 105.
Attachments
0224180938.jpg
0224180938.jpg (47.17 KiB) Viewed 3038 times
Lincoln: AC225; 210MP; PowerMIG 256; Ranger 225
Miller: 8VS suitcase
PowerMax 45XP
Various band saws, grinders, carbide saw, drill press, mag drill
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

The trick with capping any weld is to have to fill bugger all on the last layer. Less than 1mm depth between the top of the second last layer and the surface of the plate. That way, you can get a smooth action going without having to deposit too much metal. You may, in fact find that with a refinement in technique, you may need to up the amps in order to get a smooth arc and pool running, Please advise on what type of rods you are running.

Regards, Mick
cj737