Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
pdxmusicman
    Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:28 pm

Hey Ya'll,

I've done some MIG and TIG welding as part of my job in the past, but now I'm trying to get my first job as a full-time fabricator. I went for an interview/weld test yesterday and got some surprises. I thought I'd share in case it helps someone else land a job.

The written test was 9 pages long. Luckily, I studied the weld symbols before I went in and already had calculators loaded on my phone that could handle square root, area conversions, and circle math (on the last two weld tests, the employers encouraged me to use my phone). There were the usual triangle math questions as well as questions about what general settings do you start with on the gauges for an acetylene torch, what general settings do you start with on a MIG welder with .035 wire, as well as questions about how to read and interpret blueprints.

The fun came when it got time for the hands-on weld test. The manager left me with a welder that had no settings chart. If you don't know what to do in that instance, check out Jody's MIG Welding 3 video: http://www.weldingtipsandtricks.com/mig ... ics-3.html. Then when I started to do a test weld, I pressed the trigger and when I let off the trigger, the wire just kept flowing until I pressed the trigger again. I'd never seen that before. There was a switch on the front of the welder that turned this on/off.

The test manager gave me with some metal parts and a blueprint. Luckily, I measured the parts before I did anything and one of the parts he gave me was wrong, so I got that figured out right away before anything got tacked up.