Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
bunk
    Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:52 pm

I am trying to get into the pipeline welding here in ohio. I gotta take a 6G - downhill on 2" and 6" pipe with 1/16" rootopening and 1/16" landing. I know its 6010 root pass and 8010 the rest of the way out. Any suggestions or tips that anyone can help me with. Thanks.
nickn372
    Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:35 am

Where you at bunk? Who are you testing for? Have you welded open root before? What part do you need the most help with?
Be the monkey....
bunk

hey nick thanks for the reply. im in canton ohio. they are running pipe for the utica project through carrolton ohio and several other counties. ive been welding for about 23 years. i just got laid off from timken as a maintenance welder for 14 years. looking to make a move and try to get into the pipeline welding. and yes i have welded open root tests before but its always been uphill. not to sure on the downhill welding of the pipeline test. or what all it consists of for prep, setup if im beveling the coupons or anything. just need some info and help on what im looking at and what im getting into. thanks
nickn372