Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
ericcuric
    Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:37 am

Hello everyone,

I recently did the CWB level 1 weld inspector close/open book exams, i passed all three exams with good results but failed the 10 samples practical. CWB usually asks for a fee to review your exam and then pay a rewrite fee which i don't have any problem paying but what i don't understand is what is their criteria in failing someone because this is second time since 2010 i failed the practical exam. What i lack is practical experience in welding but i need to get this certification to get the job to gain experience as a visual weld inspector. Having said that i have over 3 years of experience in Quality control in which i have been involved in doing a lot of inspection plans, traceability paperwork requirements, reviewing code and standards requirements etc.

Here are my questions.

Does anyone know if CWB marks 10 samples practical exam negatively? Meaning i thought i mentioned all defects and apparent discontinuities but still failed by getting 57%...their passing precentage is 70%.

What should i look for when reviewing the course material before attempting the practical exame second time?

Any help would be appreciated.

thanks,
eric
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hey,

Welcome to the show.

Thats bad luck, let me ask you, was it the same examiner both times?

Also, try to write your answers in the exact way they talk about them in the material, and also, dont provide more info than is asked in the questions. I know that this isnt probably going to solve all your problems, but in Australia, the testing body loves the sound of their own voice/ ideas if you get me.

Mick
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum Eric.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
ericcuric

Thank you Mike, i appreciate your feedback.