Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
jde120
    Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:51 pm

Tomorrow morning I have a test on 6 inch schedule 80 stainless steel pipe. I've welded a lot of stainless but mainly thinwall like schedule 5 and 10. I've done a lot of tig on carbon too. I'm just asking if there is anything different from schedule 80 carbon to schedule 80 stainless besides having a good purge and letting it cool between passes
Also should I leave my purge on for the entire weld or can I shut it off after several passes
Thanks
Arizona SA200
    Thu Jan 30, 2014 8:28 pm

Ask the CWI about purge. The welding procedure should have limitations on this and he will tell you what they are.
I stack dimes for a living so i can stack dollars for a paycheck.
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

jde120,
First welcome to the forum! The person to help you with this question it Otto Nobedder aka Steve. He is well experienced in SS. I agree, you need to follow the WPS, that will answer most of your questions. The best of luck to you!
    Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:30 pm

http://forum.weldingtipsandtricks.com/v ... f=3&t=4328
Look at the video link in this thread, Jody did a videos "Close" to what your up against.
Hope this helps,
John
Just a couple welders and a couple of big hammers and torches.

Men in dirty jeans built this country, while men in clean suits have destroyed it.
Trump/Carson 2016-2024
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum jde120.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

jde120 wrote:Tomorrow morning I have a test on 6 inch schedule 80 stainless steel pipe. I've welded a lot of stainless but mainly thinwall like schedule 5 and 10. I've done a lot of tig on carbon too. I'm just asking if there is anything different from schedule 80 carbon to schedule 80 stainless besides having a good purge and letting it cool between passes