Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
Rick_H
    Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:50 pm

I was going to call ASME but I know of you guys deal with these daily. I am currently doing a cert test to ASME 1X but I am wondering is this enough.

Background.....I work in the food industry and in my particular department we have many pressure vessels (tanks and pipes) steam heated water pipes for the most part same for the tanks. We currently use a contractor but with my skill level they are looking to bring more in house. I currently do all the sanitary process piping along with just about all he fabrication and repair.

Does the company need to look into an R Stamp? I honestly do not know if the contractor holds it or not but after seeing some of the repairs I question it... We do have 2 boilers but they are currently outsourced which will continue as far as the tubes etc...
I weld stainless, stainless and more stainless...Food Industry, sanitary process piping, vessels, whatever is needed, I like to make stuff.
ASME IX, AWS 17.1, D1.1
Instagram #RNHFAB
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Any vessel that's certified by an ASME "U" stamp manufacturer gets an "R" stamp when it's repaired. Vessels that are certified will have a data plate with the "U" stamp, mfgr. National Board number, capacity data, MAWP, date of original test, and other miscellany. Any vessel that's been repaired will have an additional data plate with the "R" stamp, board#, co. name and date of repair/retest on it, for each occurance.

The piping is a different animal. No "R" stamp is required on repairs. As long as you've been properly qualified, and have a qualified inspection/documenting procedure in place, you should be fine. Most of my piping repairs only require me to be qualified. I DO have one coming up where I have to be certified (and I am), because the test pressure is 9600PSI, but I'd have to do some reading to see if that's an ASME thing, or (more likely) a customer specification.