Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
Dawgfan24
    Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:42 pm

I have been welding for about 10 years, mainly structural mig/tig. I have a fair amount of pipe experience but mainly tig all the way out and mainly stainless. I have a job opportunity but the test is a 6g tig root and stick out on carbon. I haven't stick welded since high school. Any pointers would be a great help. Thanks.
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

Dawgfan24 wrote:I have been welding for about 10 years, mainly structural mig/tig. I have a fair amount of pipe experience but mainly tig all the way out and mainly stainless. I have a job opportunity but the test is a 6g tig root and stick out on carbon. I haven't stick welded since high school. Any pointers would be a great help. Thanks.
Here is a great video by Jody that might help you.
http://www.weldingtipsandtricks.com/tig ... -tips.html
-Jonathan
Dblcorona
    Wed Jun 11, 2014 12:30 pm

It's about gap control and angle. I have my students use scrap pipe and make them do stringer passes on the outside of the pipe which is a little harder than the fill passes for the test. You get those down then you'll be in good shape.
Rick_H
    Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:50 pm

Dblcorona wrote:It's about gap control and angle. I have my students use scrap pipe and make them do stringer passes on the outside of the pipe which is a little harder than the fill passes for the test. You get those down then you'll be in good shape.
Agreed....I still do that at times to keep my skills up. Laying bead after bead also helps with muscle memory.
I weld stainless, stainless and more stainless...Food Industry, sanitary process piping, vessels, whatever is needed, I like to make stuff.
ASME IX, AWS 17.1, D1.1
Instagram #RNHFAB
DylanWelds
    Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:25 am