Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
millpondapiary
    Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:09 pm

I've been pipefitting and boilermaking for 12 years.
I just started a job that I had to take a 6g 2 inch test. The contractor was going on ASME B 31.1 specs.
This spec has to do with boiler procedures.
but the tester and contractor wanted 6010 root. Which ad a pipefitter I'm well familiar with and have passed 100's of xray level 3 tests.
But this contractor has hired a new testing company and within 2 weeks I have busted 2 tests with porosity which I've NEVER had a problem with.

one question is if I'm (under B31.1 should be using boiler procedures for this, which is stated as tig root and stick out)
Is there a different percentage of allowance on slag...porosity ect on a 6010 root as opposed to a tig root?
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hi there. How are you. I'm sure someone will come along and help out. Feel free to make use of the rest of the forum and introduction area while you wait.
    Fri Jan 09, 2015 8:11 pm

There is no difference in acceptance criteria based upon the process or filler metals in B31.1. Typically rounded indication acceptance criteria is a percentage of wall thickness.

https://law.resource.org/pub/us/code/ib ... 1.2007.pdf see para 136.4.5 which refers the acceptance criteria for rounded indications to ASME Sec I which you can view at https://law.resource.org/pub/us/code/ib ... i.2010.pdf says
A-2S0.3.3 Maximum Size of Rounded Indication
(See Table A-2S0.3.2 for Examples). The maximum
permissible size of any indication shall be 1/4t, or 5/32 in.
(4 mm), whichever is smaller; except that an isolated
indication separated from an adjacent indication by 1 in.
(25 mm) or more may be 1/3t, or 1/4 in. (6 mm), whichever
is less. For t greater than 2 in. (50 mm) the maximum
permissible size of an isolated indication shall be
increased to 3/8 in. (10 mm).