Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
csolo
    Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:34 pm

Hey everyone, new here but have been a fan of the forum for a while. I have been looking for some information and am hoping someone here can point me in the right direction.

I have been a Process Engineer a company for a while now but started my career in welding. As I have been working at this company I've been finding places where over the years they have modified some of the machines or added walk ways and some of the issues I have found have been down right frightening. Floor supports for a mezzanine 14 ft above the shop floor welded with 7018, welded down!, or only welded on part of one side, massive slag inclusions in welds, ect. Ive been pushing to get a lot of this fixed, even offering to do it myself, but it doesn't seem to concern some of the higher ups.

My question is, to weld on/construct an overhead walk way or stairs, is there a welding certification required or at least a guideline to follow with OSHA?

I appreciate any help you guys can give in pointing me in the right direction, I want something I can point at as a standard to get these issues fixed, I don't want anyone getting hurt.
    Fri Jan 09, 2015 8:11 pm

The Entire OSHA standard is available online which can allow you to search additional information, interpretations, and other information. If you have the paper version with you, the para below may help you .

1910.27(b)(6)
"Welding." All welding shall be in accordance with the "Code for Welding in Building Construction" (AWSD1.0-1966).
Gerald Austin
If I didn't say it in the post- Have a great day !
Greeneville Tn
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

I would add, that for liability purposes, all man-carrying structure and vital-equipment carrying structure should be welded to AWS D1.1, the most common weld code for structure in the U.S.