Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
mightyweld
    Sun Jul 26, 2015 1:01 am

im using 6011 for root pass and 6013 for filling and capping, can someone give some video on how to do it correctly and please do the basic im just a beginner in pipe welding but i need it to pass my certification.

many thanks to any one!!!!
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
    Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

Mightyweld,
Welcome to the forum. Feel free to use our introduction page to tell us a little about yourself, where you're from, level of experience, first name (nickname), that sort of thing.

Judging by the rods you're using I'm pretty sure you're not from the US or you would be asking how to weld pipe with 6010 and 7018 fill and cap. :) There are plenty of folks here who use 6011 and 6013 that will be along to help you. I personally have never ran a 6011 rod in my life but have heard that they are similar to a 6010, but I'll leave the advise to someone with real life experience.

Len
Now go melt something.
Instagram @lenny_gforce

Len
wheresmejumper
    Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:14 pm

Run 6011 the same way jodie runs 6010 in his vids.
6013 needs a lot of drag angle on top and bottom of the pipe,or it gets slaggy.coming up the sides, are less susceptible to it.
you can run 6013 a few different ways.weave,pause,weave etc or wash the pool side to side with no pausing at the sides
Dancing with the blue lady
Boomer63
    Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:52 am

Hello Mightyweld!

With open root pipe, you have two major problems. Dealing with the pipe, as opposed to plate, and dealing with the open root.