Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
BooRadley
    Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:07 am

Does anyone know what the best material is to study for the written examinations that are a part of the entry level welder certification for AWS? There are several modules, and the safety one can only be passed with a grade of 100%. I have been told by a master welder that the wording of the questions on all AWS certification exams messes everyone up, so I am trying to find the best study material I can find. Amazon.com isn't helping, and neither is google.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
sschefer
    Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:44 pm

Highly skilled at turning expensive pieces of metal into useless but recyclable crap..
BooRadley
    Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:07 am

sschefer, I am a student member of AWS, there is no student chapter in my town, and I have looked over the AWS website trying to find a book that I should be studying. There was one I ran across that was called something like 'a guide to training an entry level welder'. Well, that costs money, and the description of it that i read is not informative enough for a person to know whether or not it is something for a student to study in preparation for exams, or if it is something for an educator to study to prepare him/her to properly train a student. Maybe I just hadn't got enough sleep or something.

Anyways, if you know which publication I should study, please tell me. Pretty please, with sugar on it. :-(
rickbreezy
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:08 pm

I saw a book once in barnes and nobles for thaat sort of thing. I dont know if that was it, but i know books like that can be very hard to find, so a franchise book store that could find and order something like that for you might be your best bet.
sschefer
    Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:44 pm