It is currently Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:31 pm Advanced search

CWB Level 1 Practical Exam

Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks

CWB Level 1 Practical Exam

Postby Kasey » Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:39 pm

Hello, I'm a noob here to the forums.
Just calling out for anyone that has recently passed the practical for the CWB Level 1, 2 or 3 welding inspector certification. I found all of the modules easy and the open book on the codes were fairly simple but I've failed the practical 3 times now. Any advice from anyone would be great!
Kasey

Re: CWB Level 1 Practical Exam

Postby Artie F. Emm » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:26 pm

Did the examiners give any feedback? Got any pictures?
Dave
aka "RTFM"
Artie F. Emm
Weldmonger

Postby Kasey » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:46 pm

No pictures allowed and feedback costs the same amount as just taking the test again. The practical test now consists of 5 plastic samples compared to the 10 steel samples it had in the past. When you go for the test you don't even talk to an examiner. You just get the plastic coupons from the secretary, go to a room to mark down your findings and then leave. To me this test has very gray areas compared to the black and white which I'm told that it used to be. This test is driving me nuts as I've never been remotely close to failing any theory tests before and I've already taken 3 shots at this one! Anybody with any experience on this topic would be greatly appreciated.
Kasey

Postby Kasey » Fri Mar 18, 2016 10:09 am

Going back in on Tuesday to give er' another shot. Anybody with some last minute advice would be great! If I pass I'll let you guys know where I went wrong as I've been told plenty of people have been struggling with this test.
Kasey

Postby bagrat » Mon May 09, 2016 7:28 pm

How did the last test go Kasey?