Welding Certification test Q&A and tips and tricks
cheezy
    Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:06 pm

I am looking for tips on testing with Innersheild wire 233 3g and 4g positions.I am haveing trouble mainly with draging pushing seems to work better but doesn't feel right :roll: :?: any tips are appreciated
Sarge

Welcome. Are you a welder? Just checkin, with your signature and all.
Be Innovative.
Goal is perfection, but excellence is Acceptable.
Powermig 255C
Powermig 350MP x2
175 squarewave
Weld-pac 100
Hypertherm 600
Hypertherm 1250
4m welder
    Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:23 pm

shipyard welding?
cheezy

Yes i am a welder been an ironworker for 24 years and trying to broaden my welding techniques.I haven't welded with wire in probably 15 years.My main problem is that I weld good for about 4 inches then it just turns to sh#$ and falls.I've tried dragging and pushing the push feels and looks better but told that I am suppose to drag.Any opinions are appreciated.What I am really trying to do is move into a different field of work as the fact that there isn't much Union Ironwork out there and I am needing to move on.Plus I'm about tired of wearing myself out climbing around on the iron.
4m welder
    Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:23 pm

gun angle? travel speed...no gas coverage, easy fix if it's gas shielded..good luck, you'll work it out
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

I always push 3&4g, and 3&4f positions. If you drag 4g, the heat builds up at the back of the puddle after a few inches and either drips out or leaves a bigass grape.
cheezy

Thanks for the tip. I guess I'll just keep plugging away at it. Now I remember why I always hated wire!!!
rickbreezy
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:08 pm

I always had trouble with fluxcore as well. pushing uphill can be difficult without correct wire settings, gun angle, ect.

I feel that a good uphill(3g) method is the upside down triangle method. You can see this here. http://www.weldingtipsandtricks.com/ver ... nique.html