A dedicated area for reviews, thoughts, and feedback on shop/welding products
Simclardy
    Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:41 pm

I hear alot about these modern inverter machines and their great features.
I thought i would start compiling actual images from my welders with the hope of eliminating some of the magic/mystery associated with the new technology.
All the companies talk about wave shape manipulation, but i never see actual images. Over time this thread might be able to answer questions, like, why is this brand producing such stable arcs? Or why is it so good at arc starts?
My background is electrical. I repair all manner of appliances and some motors but I am not an engineer. I am a hobby electronics enthusiast. So if there are professional electrical/electronic engineers in the crowd please jump in and help us.
If your not a PE but can add to the subject or correct me, please do. i am forever a student.

Ok. I should have snapped a photo of the settings. The top left shows time per division and bottom left shows voltage per division. I have the machine set to AC, 200hz, balance 30%ep, 125 amps. The first image (1ms/div) is the overview with max voltage about 100 volts. I zoomed in a bit to show the change of state from negative to positive, and the third image is zoomed in further to show the switching speed and stability of the voltage.

The welder works well for me but i have never used another tig welder in 5 years. I am in the market for a new dynasty, fronius, or htp.

I was surprised a bit by the final image but i can't say if it's good or bad until i compare. Just seems a bit rough. At 50,000hz it averages out to some effective voltage. For all i know it could be the perfect switching rate.
You can see that the rms for the positive is higher than the negative side (zero crossing is the yellow arrow on left). This machine does not have "asymmetric" wave control. Thought that was interesting.

Let me know if you want me to run a specific test and i will try.