A dedicated area for reviews, thoughts, and feedback on shop/welding products
joroberts
    Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:41 pm

I am a home hobbyist in need of a recommendation for a good helmet. I have a cheaper helmet today, but I have a hard time seeing past the puddle well enough to see the path of the weld.
I am looking for a reasonably priced helmet $100-$200 range that will provide appropriate safety and clarity. I saw a post recommending a helmet from Harbor Freight, but I didn’t want to buy another helmet just to find that it would not provide the clarity I was looking for.
ljdm1956
    Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:29 pm

I don't remember the name of the website - google "Antra" welding helmet. I recently bought one from them. Top numbers on clarity, etc. Priced pretty reasonable, approx $100-120.00, model AH7-X90 . Large viewing area, Auto darkening. Not the high quality build, etc, but works very good. Maybe not 8hrs/5 days, but for home use - it works well. I prefer it over my Lincoln helmet.
Last edited by ljdm1956 on Wed Feb 26, 2020 10:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lincoln Weld-Pak 180
Lincoln spool gun
Everlast PowerUltra 205p
AHP AlphaTig 200X
Assorted stuff
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Check out the helmets from HTP. I have an older Striker CSV that cost me about $150, and even though I have an Optrel e684, I will never get rid of the Striker.
EngineerIsWelding
    Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:01 am

I have been happy with the Harbor Freight Vulcan Arcsafe helmet. $119 on sale, more typically $129 on sale and about $149 regular price. I'd read generally good reviews and HF is local so I can take it back if dissatisfied. It's light, has good headgar, big viewing area, and good optical quality. 4 arc sensors to help you avoid getting flashed, and good shade adjustments. Also fast reaction time and it handled a Miller cheater lens just fine with adjustable position. For small amps I had to turn the sensitivity all the way up, though.