A dedicated area for reviews, thoughts, and feedback on shop/welding products
airrj
    Tue Apr 21, 2015 1:31 am

A perfect storm came together last week which caused me to invest in a new DeWalt carbide chop saw. My wife and I started building a 6kW solar array, my old band saw decided to give me fits again, and Enco (http://www.use-enco.com) sent me a 25% off coupon.

So, I have been eying up a carbide chop saw for a while now, and I read about the Evolution, the DeWalt, and several others. The main reason that I went with the DeWalt over the others was the fact that it was the only one Enco sold, and of course the coupon. I am a fairly busy hobbyist and in the past I have used many band saws, abrasive chop saws, but never a carbide chop saw. So, I can't compare the DeWalt specifically to other carbide saws.

When I got the saw it was completely assembled and ready to go right out of the box. I did take a few minutes to double check all of the fasteners, and everything was good. I also spent a few minutes to review the instructions and everything really was self-explanatory. To date I have made about 50-60 cuts with the saw. Everything that I have cut has been 11 gauge to date, mostly 2x3 tubing, and some angle and flat stock.

The cuts with the carbide blade are great. Clean, square, cool and easily repeatable. Obviously with only 50'ish cuts on the blade I shouldn't even have put a dent on the claimed life span for the blade. So I can't give a reliability observation yet. I did read many reviews about carbide saws before I purchased and there were a handful of bad reviews based on poor blade life. I believe that it would be easy to tear up the blade quickly by leaning on the saw hard while cutting. I will try to keep track of my usage and report back later.