A dedicated area for reviews, thoughts, and feedback on shop/welding products

This will be a review in progress, the hood was delivered today (12/22) and I don't go back to work until 1/04/2016 (yea)

Purchased from Welding Supplies From IOC on 12/12/15 for $263 minus a $15 discount (I think it was for signing up for their newsletter, I had just created an account so maybe that was the reason, either way...). Plus I'll be taking advantage of Miller's $45 MIR (which can actually be emailed) for a final cost of $203!

I wasn't in hurry so I selected the free shipping option, only to be surprised they sent it USPS 2 day priority! However I wasn't surprised when it didn't arrive on the 18th as the tracking suggested.

My current hood is the Digital Elite which is at least 10 years old, so I am looking forward to seeing what the best Miller hood has to offer. I've been reviewing hoods on and off for the past 6 months and it came down to this one or the new Speedglas XXi. With the discount and Miller's rebate I figured for the price I couldn't do better.

I'll continue with photos and my impressions over the holiday's, and a final after I get some arc time with it.
Richard
Website

Here is the hood front, you can see the four sensors, two above and two below the lens
Attachments
IMG_1677a.jpg
IMG_1677a.jpg (55.74 KiB) Viewed 2410 times
Richard
Website

This is the hood bag, a new clip-on top suspension pad on the left, extra lens covers and a cheater lens attachment on the right
Attachments
IMG_1678a.jpg
IMG_1678a.jpg (62.61 KiB) Viewed 2412 times
Richard
Website

The headgear seems quite good once it is adjusted, and has the most options in any hood that I've owned, the 10yo Digital Elite was my first auto darkening hood. After I use the hood I'm guessing there may be a final adjustment.