Fuel gas heating, bending, welding, straightening, etc.
Skiddz
    Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:18 am

I'm just a hobbyist welder and have been doing only arc (SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, GTAW) welding of late. I do have a gas rig that I used last many years ago for some quick repairs on a trailer, but I really had no idea what I was doing.

I decided to break it out the other day just to re-familiarize myself with the parts and pieces and make sure it all still worked. (Mainly the regulators - It/they did)

I started watching vids and doing some reading in anticipation of practicing on some scrap, specifically on how to select the proper tip size for a specific material thickness. What I found was different manufacturers use different number conventions when defining orifice size.. Is there a reasonably quick/easy way to get to a good starting point? I did find a chart with recommended orifice sizes for various material thicknesses, but I'd have to physically measure the tips to get anywhere with that. Seems more than a bit tedious and time consuming. A "101" would be most appreciated.

Thx!

Doesn't the manufacturer of your equipment provide the info you need?
Richard
Website
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Most manufacturers stamp the tip size onto the tip, making it very easy to correctly choose the proper tip size of your torch’s brand for the material thickness you’re cutting.
Skiddz
    Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:18 am

LtBadd wrote:Doesn't the manufacturer of your equipment provide the info you need?
Torch kit came with exactly ZERO documentation. The only thing on the three tips I have is stamped numbers but without measuring the actual orifices, they're just arbitrary numbers.
cj737 wrote:Most manufacturers stamp the tip size onto the tip, making it very easy to correctly choose the proper tip size of your torch’s brand for the material thickness you’re cutting.