Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Jman1989
    Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:24 pm

I've seen this discussed extensively and watched the different videos pertaining to it but for some reason it's just not working. I'm fairly new to this so bare with me. I've got some 3/8 plate 3/32 gap and land. I'm using an everlast 200st welder I can get the puddle going at first everything seems to be going fine then all hell breaks loose lol. The keyhole starts opening up I try stepping out farther doesn't seem to help I've tried everything short of dropping the amps even more. I've been running at 70 amps and I'm wondering if maybe the welder is running hotter than it displays or if it's just me any help/tips would be appreciated thanks in advance.
Boomer63
    Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:52 am

Welcome to the forum! Feel free to introduce yourself!

Sometimes when this is new to you, maybe you want to operate at lower amperage before moving up to higher settings. Try moving down to about 65. Don't worry about what the Youtube video's say. Just learn to work the gap. Also,make sure that you have the rod stuck down into the keyhole; don't be afraid of burying that sucker. To me, when the keyhole is larger, I whip up longer to allow the deposit that I leave to cool. When the keyhole is smaller, I don't have to whip so far. It is never the same and always changes from moment to moment.

As I say, turn the machine down as you are learning. Learn to do the open root. It takes awhile to understand what is happening, and how to react. For me, I like a larger gap. I will run a 1/8" gap with a 3/16" land. I love open roots and have never met one I didn't like. The worse they are the better. It is not that I am such a good welder, but the crappy, garbage welding I did as a learner back in the 1970's prepared me for doing open root.

Let us know how it works out for you!
Gary
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Jman. welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225