Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
tomdavis1865
    Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:01 pm

I have a test on Friday and the tig portion of it is 5 pieces of 1/2'' sched 160 (freehand tig) and the stick portion of it is a 6" sched 40 carbon 7018 root - cap. I haven't done any 7018 roots before and I'm going to practice tomorrow for it but I was wondering if anyone in here has done it before and if so what is the best heat/ technique to use. I'm figuring it be oscilation and a lot of stop/starts and feathering but I don't want to light up on it at normal 3/32 temp and blow through. I'd really like to not bust on this test due to never having done a root this way so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks guys :D
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Tom, welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
PeteM
    Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:28 am

This guy seems to be familiar with it-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0rSCF4Q4_uM

I have no experience with that application though.
noddybrian
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:13 pm

Have done 7018 root - our WPS called for electrode negative root - all other passes electrode positive - not sure on amps as nothing I've used had any readout & we always weld with left hand on remote which is marked 0 > 10 - sorry I can't be more specific . vertical is quite easy once you practice & get a feel for it - overhead can be a major issue depending on rods - not sure what you work with but look for the thinnest coating rod available - price is getting crazy expensive on them but best luck I've had was with Filarc 55 - obviously prep angle / root gap / land is going to have a big effect - we have 70 degree included angle - 2.5mm gap - very slight maybe 1.5mm land - good luck on test - hope it goes well for you.
tomdavis1865
    Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:01 pm

Thanks guys for the replies, I ended up going in and testing and it shot so we're in the green now! Great community in here, y'all are awesome