Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
fredimension
    Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:16 am

Hi all, so this is my first post, and I thought it would be fitting to post my questions here rather on the introduction section. To explain my situation, I am a mechanical engineer student and we got this mechanical shop class where I recently did a report about arc welding. We haven't done any form of welding yet in class so I had to rely on the internet for information. After my report, the professor gave me some questions that he wants answered by next meeting. The problem is, I can't seem to answer two of his questions. Here they are:

1.Is the tensile strength value written on the welding electrode refer to the welding electrode before welding or after welding (the welding bead)?
2.Why does the metal (I think he was referring to the electrode core wire?) melts first during welding and the coating remains to cover the core wire?

Well, for the first question, I think it refers to after welding because I think that would make much more sense. While for the second one, I think the metal melts first because the heat is concentrated there and not on the coating. However, I am still not sure about these answers and haven't welded firsthand yet and would like to ask the help of some experienced welders out there. I also tried looking up the internet but haven't found any luck and I do not know any welders near my home. Many thanks for reading it up to here.
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

1. The Electrode tensile rating is for the strength the weld bead will produce.
2. The “coating” is called flux and it is there to shield the arc during the process. Depending upon which process is used, and whether you are electrode positivie or negative, the electrode is actually short circuited against the parent metal.

https://www.millerwelds.com/resources/a ... electrodes
PeteM
    Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:28 am