Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Hoopy Frood
    Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:11 pm

Hello!

I'm basically brand new to welding. A friend gave me a buzzbox and I'm just trying to get practice in. I've been collecting a bunch of scrap for practice.

Since I'm starting with the very basics (and most of my work is outdoors in a homestead/farm environment) I wanted to start with 6011 and I bought 1/8" electrodes to start. All I'm messing with at this point is mild steel.

Given that, what is the minimum thickness of material I can be expected to work on without excessive risk of burning through the material? I'm guessing 1/8" plate/wall thickness could be welded, but anything thinner I might eat up?

I have a large collection of tube stock with a wall thickness of either 1/16" or 3/32"... what diameter of 6011 electrode might be more appropriate for that?

Thank you so much!
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Hoopy Frood wrote:I'm guessing 1/8" plate/wall thickness could be welded, but anything thinner I might eat up?
Good guess! Clearly, you know where your towel is. :-)

You can use a 1/8" rod on 1/8" material but you'll need to turn amps way down. According to this chart
http://www.islandsupplywelding.com/electrode-guide.htm
you can use a 1/8" rod on plate up to 1/4" (by turning amps up).

Remember Jody's mantra: turn amps up high enough that you can hold a tight arc without sticking the electrode... then, hold a tight arc. With a 1/8" rod you might do better to practice on heavier material first. Grind the joint to shiny bare metal for best results.

Welcome to the forum, btw. What machine did you get?
Dave
aka "RTFM"
    Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:37 pm

If want good luck
Use 6013 around 1/8"
6011 is high penetration and does do well on thin gage

Dave

Hoopy Frood wrote:Hello!

I'm basically brand new to welding. A friend gave me a buzzbox and I'm just trying to get practice in. I've been collecting a bunch of scrap for practice.